Why do I choose religion over everything?

Roy Aishwarjyo
3 min readSep 3, 2020

--

Image collected

For a very long time, I was indifferent to my culture and religious views. It might sound very harsh but being a religious person was never my cup of tea. The rules and regulations for maintaining my religious views were quite difficult for me. It’s not only about the fact that I didn’t know the perspectives but also that I was more devoted to work than devoted to nature. Devoted to nature is a heavy word for me. Undoubtedly it is a heavy word.

There is this book also known as “Devoted to Nature” by Evan Berry .

The book explores the religious foundation of American environmentalism including the ecclesiastical character of environmental thought. It covers from its Romantic foundations to contemporary nature spirituality. During the Gilded Age and the Progressive Era, religious sources were the center of the formation of the American environmental imagination.

By establishing practices of engagement with environments and landscapes the book generates a new relationship between social and political events too . Building on the work of seminal environmental historians who acknowledge the environmental movements’ religious roots, Evan Berry offers a potent theoretical corrective to the narrative that explained the presence of religious elements in the movement well into the twentieth century.

Well, back to my topic, for me, religion is a lifestyle always and as I am not a regular basic lifestyle follower, it was uncomfortable for me to follow the exact same routine everyday.

Image collected

But here is what pushes my mind away from being an unstable person. I started to follow the rules primarily knowing that it wouldn’t last long. I would come back to my old routine after a few days but surprisingly that didn’t happen again. It was always a subtle and soothing relaxed feel for me to pray to mother nature. Prayer Brings Breakthroughs in Life certainly. I do pray a few times everyday. And it calms my mind as always. The difference is, before, I did pray after some devastated days as I needed some time for me to organize. And now I pray everyday just because it helps me to calm myself down, control my anger issues and prevents me from being vulnerable seeking help from others while I myself didn’t want to help me. Prayer is a serene task for it will always help you fight against the spiritual battles that linger in dark places.

When your friend won’t understand you, your family won’t support you, your partner starts misunderstanding you, prayer is the one that keeps you alive and gives you a reason to be alive for all the goods.

When we spend time in prayer it is going to change our heart .The more time we spend in prayer, the more we are like mother nature. We no longer live a self-centered life, but one that is focused on others with a pure and sincere heart. Pray for yourself, everyday, pray for your family ,everyday that will heal your scars day by day. Pray until your mind shuts all the negativity and toxin from yourself. Prayer changes us inside out. It draws near to mother nature.

And by having prayer everyday, one day you will understand that nothing but prayer is the one that will keep you as YOU always and forever. And that day , prayer will be the most spiritually rich time of your life my friend.

So when are you going to start praying?

--

--

Roy Aishwarjyo

A Computer Science and Engineering student. Interested in Computer Science, business analytics, project management, research and editing.